Julius Malema was re-elected unopposed as EFF leader by about 4 000 ululating, cheering and dancing delegates at the EFF national people’s assembly (its national congress) south of Johannesburg shortly before pumpkin hour Saturday night.

His was the only one of the top six EFF leadership for which
no-one was nominated by delegates at the gathering, which will run until

However, because of the EFF’s election rules, which requires
any nomination to be supported by 30% of the meeting for it to b e valid, for
each of the positions only one candidate met the threshold, so no elections
will take place for any of the top six positions.

EFF national people’s assembly: Top Six elected

The new EFF top six are:

Commander in Chief: Julius Malema (re-elected)

Deputy President: Floyd Shivambu (re-elected)

National Chairperson: Veronica Mente (replacing Adv. Dali

Secretary General: Marshall Dlamini (replacing Godrich Gardee)

Deputy Secretary General: : Poppy Raesibe Mailola (replacing
Hlengiwe Mkhaliphi)

Treasurer General: Umpile Maotwe (replacing Leigh-Ann

The highest drama of the night was when Mpofu accepted a
nomination to stand against Shivambu, but could not achieve the 30% threshold
required. Mkhaliphi declined to be nominated for her former position and
Gauteng EFF chairperson Mandisa Mashego accepted nomination to contest against
Dlamini, but did not achieve the 30% threshold.

On Sunday, delegates will elect 35 additional members of the central command team, which is roughly the EFF equivalent to the ANC’s National Executive Committee or the DA’s federal council.

This is a developing story – more details to follow.


Presh JM Reporter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *